Steven A. Andersson


Community Service:  Steven A. Andersson is a past Member of the Illinois House of Representatives representing the 65th district located in northwestern Kane County and southern McHenry county. Steve serves on several key committees that influence the direction of state policy affecting individuals, local government and small business.  The committees include: 1)  Cities and Villages, 2) Judiciary-Civil, and 3) Appropriations.

Undergraduate Education: Northern Illinois University, 1986.

Graduate Education: Northern Illinois University, 1992, Magna Cum Laude; Assistant Student Works Editor, Northern Illinois University Law Review; Northern Illinois University Mock Trial Team; Recipient, American Jurisprudence Award in Trusts and Estates, 1991.

First Admitted to Bar: Illinois, 1992.

Subsequent Admissions: United States Supreme Court; United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

Memberships: Past President, Kane County Bar Association; Chair, Kane County Bar Association Municipal Law Committee; Kane County Bar Foundation; Illinois Bar Association; American Bar Association; National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys; Board of the Aurora Family Counseling Service and Big Brother/Big Sisters; Chairman, Greater Aurora Chamber of Commerce School/Business Partnership Program.

Additional Legal Experience:General Counsel and Village Prosecutor, Village of Montgomery, Village of Sugar Grove, Village of Hinckley, Village of Kaneville and the Village of Burlington; Counsel for the Northwest Water Planning Alliance; Special Prosecutor and Special Counsel, North Aurora, Aurora, and other local municipalities; General Counsel for numerous Homeowners’ Associations.

Awards: Recipient of the 2017 Legislator of the Year for the Illinois Association of Park Districts, 2016 Legislator award from the Illinois Environmental Council, 2012 Star Award from Metro West Council of Government, and the 2016 Illinois Farm Bureau Activator Award

Concentrations: Local GovernmentMunicipal Law

E-Mail Steven A. Andersson
Telephone: 630-801-9699 ext. 105
Fax: 630-801-9715

May Rygh
Telephone: 630-801-9699 ext. 109